Personal Injury Attorneys in Bend, Oregon
Being involved in an accident can be a difficult and emotional experience. Whether it is a personal injury or negligent accident, such an unfortunate incident can affect you physically, financially, and mentally. Thankfully, Oregon personal injury laws allow victims of negligent accidents to hold the responsible parties accountable and pursue damages for their injuries.
If you or a loved one were injured due to the recklessness or negligence of another person, you're within your rights to seek fair financial compensation by filing a personal injury claim or lawsuit. At Haskett Williams Monaghan Attorneys at Law, we're poised and ready to support and represent clients in their personal injury cases.
Our experienced Oregon personal injury attorneys will review every facet of your unique circumstances and help you understand your available legal options to seek damages. Also, our reliable legal team will fight compassionately for your rights and help you seek the maximum possible compensation for your injuries, damages, and losses.
Haskett Williams Monaghan Attorneys at Law proudly serves clients across Bend, Oregon, and the surrounding areas of Prineville, Redmond, Sisters, and Sun River.
Your Recovery Starts HereSCHEDULE A CONSULTATION
Personal Injury Claims in Oregon
In Oregon, any person who suffers a personal injury or negligent accident may be entitled to recover damages by filing a personal injury claim. However, Oregon is an "at-fault" state for auto accidents and personal injuries.
Under the state's fault laws, the person who caused your injury or accident (at-fault party) will be held financially and civilly liable for medical expenses, property damage, and any other accident-related losses you suffer. In addition, Oregon's insurance policies require a built-in "provision" referred to as Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage.
Comparative Negligence Rule in Oregon
Furthermore, Oregon follows the modified comparative fault principle, with a 51 % limit. According to the rule, you may be entitled to recover compensation for your personal injuries if the other party was found to be mostly (51% or more) at fault for the injury. However, the total damages that may be recovered will be reduced by your percentage of fault.
For example, if the jury awards $70,000 in total damages against the liable party but determines that you were 30% at fault for your personal injuries, your damages will be reduced by $21,000. As a result, you will only be allowed to recover 70% of $70,000 ($49,000).
Under Oregon's modified comparative fault rule, you will be completely barred from pursuing damages if you were found to be mostly (51% or more) at fault for your personal injury or accident.
Statute of Limitations
The statute of limitations for personal injury claims in Oregon—including pedestrian accidents, auto accidents, slip and falls, and truck accidents – is two years from the date of the personal injury or accident. This means you must commence a civil action to recover damages within two years from the date the injury occurred.
Filing a Personal Injury Claim
What's more, the available legal options to seek damages for your personal injury in Oregon are as follows:
Filing With Your Own Insurance – You can file a first-party injury claim with your own insurance provider.
Filing Against the At-Fault Person/Entity – After a car accident, you can file a third-party injury claim against the insurer of the at-fault party.
Filing Lawsuit – You can file a personal injury lawsuit against the at-fault party in civil court.
Our dependable attorneys will fight for your legal rights, help file your claims, and attempt to recover the maximum available financial compensation for your losses. The following damages may be recovered by filing a personal injury claim in Oregon:
medical bills, including the cost of past, ongoing, and future medical treatments.
lost wages and benefits
loss of future income
loss of earning capacity
loss of employment or business opportunity
compensation for domestic services
repair and replacement of damaged property
wrongful death damages, where applicable
pain and suffering
loss of society
mental anguish or emotional distress
loss of enjoyment of life
loss of consortium
Punitive damages serve as an additional punishment to the at-fault party for their intentional, egregious, or socially unacceptable actions.
Work With Experienced Personal Injury Attorneys
A personal injury or negligent accident can be devastating and can result in minor or severe injuries, hospitalization, reduced productivity, or even death. Regardless, you shouldn’t have to navigate your situation alone. If you have suffered an injury due to another person's negligence, retaining an experienced personal injury attorney is imperative for detailed guidance and to help protect your rights.
At Haskett Williams Monaghan Attorneys at Law, we have the expertise and resources to help you hold those responsible for your injuries liable. Using our extensive knowledge of Oregon laws addressing liability in personal injury cases, we can guide you through the often-complex claims process. In addition, our reliable team will advocate for your best interests and help you recover your rightful financial compensation.
Personal Injury Attorneys in Bend, Oregon
If you or a family member were hurt in a negligent accident, you may seek fair financial compensation. Contact us at Haskett Williams Monaghan Attorneys at Law today to schedule a simple case assessment. Our skilled lawyers can offer you the vigorous representation and personalized attention you need in your personal injury claims. We proudly serve clients across Bend, Prineville, Redmond, Sisters, and Sun River, Oregon.